08 July, 2007

New 7 World Wonders Named!

Yesterday, in Lisbon, 07/07/07, the new 7 wonders of the world were named. I've been waiting to know the results impatiently! People from around the world voted online, through phone and via SMS. The Giza Pyramids gets a by and is still considered a wonder due to the fact that it's the only remaining wonder from the first lot. Well, here they are in random order:

Chichén Itzá, Mexico

Christ Redeemer, Brazil

The Great Wall, China

Machu Picchu, Peru

Petra, Jordan

The Roman Colloseum, Italy

And Finally

The Taj Mahal, India

Well how about that? That is a rather fine list isn't it? I might have chosen the Kremlin instead of the Redeemer myself, but still, It does deserve to be there. I know very little of the Machu Picchu and I'll definatly read more about it. Congratulations are in order to my Jordanian brothers, Alpetra is amazing and is well deserving of its place.

Runners up included the Acropolis, Statues of Easter Island, the Statue of Liberty and Sydney's Opera House.


Anonymous said...

This list is ridiculous, there's nothing "modern" about any of these things. I'm not saying they're not wonders, I'm saying that they have no place on a "modern" list of wonders. Some of them are just as old as the ancient wonders.

Tom said...

its a wounder they aint got better images. and yea. you cant call these modern. Heres some examples of what should be on the list. please add to them.
1. International Space station,
2. The partical Colider at CERN
3. The BlueGene/L super Computer
(add more here)

Anonymous said...

It never said they had to be modern did it? I'm fairly sure there's another list for wonders of the modern world anyway...

Anonymous said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
Manaf Almuhandis said...

Well, the point was to choose "replacment" wonders. Since it is chosen in the present, that world be the "Modern Wonder List". Where the word "modern" refers to "list" not "wonder". Got it?